Georgia’s Sexual Assault Laws

Michael McIntyre is an attorney and lead counsel with Michael Kennedy McIntyre & Associates. Leading Michael Kennedy McIntyre & Associates since 1985, Michael McIntyre endeavors to keep abreast of the latest changes in Georgia law, including sex offense laws.

Sexual assault laws in Georgia differ from from many other states in the US. Below are three sexual assault laws worth noting in Georgia.

Sexual battery
Sexual battery happens when an individual purposefully makes physical contact with another person’s intimate parts without their consent. Considered a high-order misdemeanor, sexual battery carries a jail term of up to 12 months and a $5,000 fine in Georgia. However, aggravated sexual battery can lead to a sentence of 25 years to life imprisonment.

Romeo and Juliet sexual battery laws
Under sexual battery laws in Georgia, even young lovers can be punished within the confines of “Romeo and Juliet” laws. The laws apply if the victim falls within the 14-16 year-old bracket and the accused is 18 years old.

Improper sexual contact laws
Sexual relations involving a person of trust over another or in a position of authority are punishable under Georgia law. This includes a person with disciplinary or supervisory authority over someone.